A Book That Makes You Want to Read Them Again and Again

Featured Image -- 39

Have you ever read a book series and was so in love with it, connected to it, that once you were finished reading it, you didn’t want to read any other books.  Some kind of way you became a part of the book.  While reading the book you were in the center of things, watching it play out, feeling the emotions of each character and never wanting the story to end.  I’ve only read three story series that I have read more than once.  I’ve really ready a couple of them three times through.  I’m reading on series through again for the second time, and as much as I try to put it down, I just can’t do it.

It’s funny I remember when I first read the book jacket for this series I was like really, I don’t want to read about some women who travel from the 20th century to the 18th century only to fall in love with a highlander. However, while I was channel surfing I ran upon a new series I thought would be interesting to watch.  I remembered the date, the name of the pilot show and marked on my calendar to watch. The day it premiered I was glued to the television set, laying in my bed waiting patiently for it to end.  One viewing and I was hooked.  Then I had a quick glimpse of the book jacket flash across my mind’s eye.  I jumped up to find my kindle and put it the title “Outlander” and it popped up! I laughed to myself and thought stupid girl what were you thinking; with one click bought the book.

I started reading it immediately, I guess because I watched the first show the characters were set in my mind.  Jamie played by Sam Heughan look like James Alexander Malcom McKenzie Fraser.  He was him and I liked him.  Claire played by Cairtronia Balfe, became Claire Beauchamp Randall.  The book came to life and before I knew it I had read through an 8 series book in 3 months, flat.  Mind you, I’m a teacher, volleyball coach, foster parent, praise dance team director and wife, but noting could stop me from reading this series that took me to wherever, Claire, Jamie, Brianna or Roger were, who am I kidding; where any of the characters are.

Diana Gabaldon is a story writer extraordinaire!  She can weave a tail with so many different directions to go in that she makes you want to know so much more of everyone in the book! There are characters I’m yearning to know more about and I want to know how it is that those who go through the stones are able to do it.  I have an idea but I want to know Diana’s point of view of the story.

So if you’re looking for a series to read try the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. You will become a “Fan”-natic”!  I know it’s not a real word, but hey, I like it! I can’t wait to read the “Book Number 9”. Until then I will watch the series on T.V. especially the first season over and over again until Season 2 begins, I forgot to tell you Roger D. Moore has done an excellent job of bringing the book to life, maybe it’s not just like the books, but it’s enough to keep you wanting and wishing for more!

It’s a good read,  just give it a try and tells me what you think, book #1 Outlander. It doesn’t matter if you’re young or old, black or white, or peach or tan, orange, hee hee, you will love the book!

3 thoughts on “A Book That Makes You Want to Read Them Again and Again

Leave a Reply

