The Quest for Fitness over 50 Continues

Hello! I know it’s been awhile, but I’m still on this weight loss, fitness journey that I began in 2014.  Yes, it’s been 3 years but a journey is a journey with twists and turns and undiscovered paths. Let me tell you something after having a hysterectomy, being diagnosed with hypothyroidism, joint pain, blood clots and 2 pulmonary embolisms I’m just happy to still be in the game!

The hypothyroidism has been one of my biggest challenges it had caused be to persevere over some major medical issues.  I’ve battled, high cholesterol, high blood pressure and to top those off a T.I.A-Transient, Ischemic Attack a warning stroke.

I figured I’d better take control of my body before it took control of me and took me out of the game. So, I began a low carb, eating cycle, after volleyball season was over in month of November.  I had to wait so I could focus, being a coach and having time to focus on anything but your sport, and class assignments is just too hectic for me.

In the 2 week of November I started my low carb South Beach Diet, with Jamie Eason’s 12 week Body transformation, through weight lifting and walking 30 minutes for 5 or 6 days a week.  I had to get up at 5 or 6 in the morning to accomplish this and thank God I have a weight room over my garage.

Through determination, working out and the help of my husband I lost 20 lbs within 2 months.  I know most of it was water weight, but my body started showing curves I had been missing for a loooong time!!!

All was going well until December, when a tragedy hit our family, my mother in law passed away and threw us all off kilter. During this time I was grabbing quick meals because I was helping to schedule mom’s funeral arrangements and I was also comforting myself with the very foods I said I would not indulge in again.

It’s June now and I’m not giving up.  I’m not giving up l’m still walking and doing my second round of the Jamie Eason 12 week Live fit program.  I’ve also incorporated a meal plan through a nutritionist.  I promise to keep you all updated and I promise to stay on this journey, it’s either my health or more pill, I chose my health!

June 2017                                              November 2016

Leave a Reply

